Synonomous Parallelism & Psalm 27

Psalm 27 – Responsive Reading (selected verses)

On September 14th, we watched a video for our Psalm of the Day, which is Psalm 27.  This is a powerful Psalm and rich with parallel poetry.  We will introduce the video with the following responsive reading:

 

Leader – As we recite Psalm 27 responsively, pay particular attention to the poetic parallelism where the congregation repeats the same thoughts as spoken by the Leader.  This is a form of Hebrew poetry used extensively throughout the Psalms.

 

Leader:                       The LORD is my light and my salvation—whom shall I fear?

Congregation:            The LORD is the stronghold of my life—of whom shall I be afraid?

Leader:                        When evil men advance against me; to devour my flesh,

Congregation:            when my enemies and my foes attack me, they will stumble and fall.

Leader:                        Though an army besiege me, my heart will not fear;

Congregation:            though war break out against me, even then will I be confident.

Leader:                         One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life,

Congregation:            to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple.

Leader:                        For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling;

Congregation:            he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.

Leader:                        Hear my voice when I call, O LORD;

Congregation:            be merciful to me and answer me.

Leader:                        My heart says of you, “Seek his face!”

Congregation:            Your face, LORD, I will seek.

Leader:                        Do not hide your face from me,

Congregation:            do not turn your servant away in anger; you have been my helper.

Leader:                       Teach me your way, O LORD;

Congregation:            lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors.

Leader:                        Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.

Source: All scripture text is NIV.

 

