Hymned !!!

On 9/14, we used the hymn “Take My Life & Let it Be” as the theme for worship.  All of our music was tightly knitted to this theme.

“Take My Life” by Scott Underwood
“Take My Life, and Let it Be” by Henri A. Cesar Malan– Contemporary Arrangement
“Take Our Lives” by Andy Park
“My Life is in You, Lord” by Daniel Gardner

Our Pastor then led a series of devotions on personal commitment and weaved these into Havergal’s hymn.  We sang individual verses of the hymn after hearing God’s word as it pertained to the subject matter as shown below.

Devotion #1: 2 Corinthians 5:15-17
“Take What I Do, Lord!”
15 And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.
16 So from now on we regard no one from a worldly point of view. Though we once regarded Christ in this way, we do so no longer. 17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

Hymn Response:   “Take My Life and Let it Be”  (CW 469:1,2)

Devotion #2: 1 Chronicles 16:8,9
“Take What I Say, Lord!”
8 Give thanks to the LORD, call on his name; make known among the nations what he has done. 9 Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts.

Hymn Response:   “Take My Life and Let it Be”  (CW 469:3)

Devotion #3: 2 Corinthians 8:7,12
“Take What I Have, Lord!”
7 But just as you excel in everything—in faith, in speech, in knowledge, in complete earnestness and in your love for us—see that you also excel in this grace of giving…
12 For if the willingness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what he does not have.

Hymn Response:    “Take My Life and Let it Be”  (CW 469:4-6)

Song: “Take My Life And Let it Be” (by Frances Havergal, Chris Tomlin & Louie Giglio) – Sung by the Choir

The net effect was a worshipful meeting that will stick with me for quite some time, and I will always sing the hymn “Take My Life & Let it Be” again with a deep spiritual and heartfelt connection.  One thing that kept crossing my mind during the service was the word “Take” and how we were using it in worship.  It’s one thing to do our best in offering our gifts, times and talents to the Lord – our voices, our offerings, our praise, etc.; but as for me – I’m still a sinner and I can get stingy with my Lord.  So this song says more than I’ll do my best – it says; “Lord – TAKE!”   Take my life, my hands, my voice, my silver, my gold, my moments, my feet, my lips, my intellect, my will, my heart, my love and finally myself.   It’s all in that hymn.  At our church, Jesus tells us every other Sunday to “Take of His body and His blood.”  Finally, I was able to say: “Jesus – TAKE!!!”

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society

