The Power of Prayer

The Power of Prayer

About two years ago, my sister’s 18 year old son was seriously ill in the hospital.  Everyone in the family, and many friends (including my church), were praying for him.  As it turns out, my wife’s sister-in-law is a dispatcher for a national trucking company.  Somehow she got word out to all of her truckers (and there’s hundreds of them) that there was a sick young man that needed their prayers.  The next thing we knew, there were truckers all over the US talking to each other on their CB radios spreading the word about the boy that needed their prayers.  My nephew is completely recovered today.  Several months after the incident; I was reminded how sick he was when I saw his fingers and asked “what happened to your finger nails?”  Each one, all 10 without exception, had ridges and were essentially cut in half about mid-way out from his cuticles.  I don’t know the medical reasons for this but it appears to me that they actually stopped growing during his illness and then restarted at a later date.

As I think back on this event; I am reminded of something that Martin Luther once said:

“Finally, mark this, that you must always make the AMEN strong, never doubting that God is surely listening to you with all grace and saying YES to your prayer.   Remember that you are not kneeling or standing there alone, but that all Christendom, all devout Christians are standing there with you and you with them in one unanimous, united prayer which God cannot ignore.  And never leave off praying without having said or thought: There now, this prayer has been heard by God; this I know of a certainty.  That is what ‘Amen’ means.”

Martin Luther, from the MINISTERS’ PRAYER BOOK, edited by John W. Doberstein, Muehlenberg Press, no date, p.443

Faith is telling a mountain to move and being shocked only when it doesn’t!

