A Benediction based on Psalm 20

A Benediction based on Psalm 20

May the LORD answer you when you are in distress; may the name of the God of Jacob protect you.  (vs 1)
May he send you help from the sanctuary and grant you support from Zion.   (vs 2)
May he remember all your sacrifices and accept your burnt offerings.   (vs 3)
May he give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed.  (vs 4)
And may the LORD grant all your requests.  (vs 5b)

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society

3 thoughts on “A Benediction based on Psalm 20”

  1. It seems that your second phrase is out of place (“May we shout for joy . . .”) In the Psalm, the Lord is the subject, stated or implied, in each verse. The thought “flying banners to honor God” isn’t present, as you presented the Psalm above. If you wish to include that thought, you might want to add 5a for clarification. (An alternative would be to leave out the graphic and go with the benediction as you have it.)

    And if I may, I have a question on this Psalm. vss 1-4 are addressing “you”. vs 5 declares “we” will rejoice when “you” are victorious and vs 6 speaks in the third person about the Lord saving his Anointed. Vss 7-8 have the subject “we”. My question is whether you would consider vss 1-6 to be Messianic, just vs 6, or none of them. And do you feel that vss 7-8 are the believer’s response to the Lord’s salvation or to his dealings in the world? – Ed

    Like

  2. I guess I have a different take on this Psalm than you do Ed. I see myself, or the audience being read to, as the subject of the first four verses. To me, this is a blessing that a Pastor might read to his congregation for example. In this passage, I’m told that the Lord will answer me in distress (v1a), that He will protect me (v1b), help me (v2), he will remember my sacrifices and offerings (v3) and that he will give me the desires of my heart (v4). It’s beautiful. Verse 5b sums it all up with the reassuring thought that the Lord can grant all these requests.

    You’re right in that the focus changes from “you” in verses 1-4 to “we” in vs 5. I believe that “we” in verse 5 is the assembly of believers and “you” in this verse is a reference to God (the Father).

    Personally, I don’t see this as a Messianic Psalm but I’m far from an expert.

    If you need further clarification, I suggest that you consult a trusty Commentary or speak with your Pastor.

    The graphic is just there for visual interest.

    Thanks for reading my BLOG and taking the time to comment!

    Like

  3. Yeah, sorry. I’m working on the devotions for Ps 16, and see “Messianic” in everything. According to Pr. Brug (People’s Bible), Ps 20 is a dialog between the king and his army before a battle, but may be expanded to include the nation. Leupold doesn’t even see anything Messianic in Ps 16, so he wouldn’t see anything here. (He’s an excellent linguist, but I argue his interpretation of practically every Psalm!)

    I just feel that this Psalm has a lot more to say than “Go with God and have a good war.” I haven’t checked Psalms for Kids on it yet, but now I’m wondering what they say. Sorry, I tend to ramble on.

    And I wonder about the little things. For example, I wonder why David/the Holy Spirit put the pause (Selah) after verse 3 instead of after verse 4.

    And yeah, I’ll check w/Pr Lauersdorf (actually, he checks all of my devotions.)

    Thanks for the insight, and may the God of Jacob protect you throughout the day. – Ed.

    Like

Comments are closed.