“Lord I Lift Your Name On High” – A song for many occasions

Lord I Lift Your Name On High

The song, “Lord I Lift Your Name on High” has been around for 20 years now, perhaps long enough to knock it out of the “contemporary” genre but its popularity is still high.  I think that one reason for this is its broad application for the Christmas through Ascension church year that’s summarized in its short and simple chorus as shown below:

 

You came from heaven to earthreference to Christmas (Christ’s birth)

To show the way

From the earth to the crossreference to Lent

My debt to pay

From the cross to the gravereference to Good Friday

From the grave to the skyreference to Easter & Ascension

Lord I lift Your name on high

 

It has a verse as well:

 

Verse:

Lord I lift Your name on high

Lord I love to sing Your praises

I’m so glad You’re in my life

I’m so glad You came to save us

 

CCLI Song #117947

© 1989 Maranatha Praise, Inc.

By Rick Founds

 

I like to use this song when I know there will be a lot of unchurched visitors and children because it captures a lot of information about Jesus’ life in a memorable and singable format and is easy to comprehend.  I’ve specifically used this at our worship service that concludes our Summer VBS where a lot of visitors are in attendance. 

 

As Lutherans, we tend to like a lot of words, some doctrine, and some theology packed into our music.  This song doesn’t do much of that, although it contains the Gospel and is specific in its references to Christ.  It’s not a hymn, but sometimes, keeping it simple is a good idea.  Sometimes we need to see what the creatures do to praise God that were made specifically for that purpose.  Consider the Seraphims for example, they call back and forth to each other, in the presence of God, “Holy, Holy, Holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full with His glory.”  As far as I know, they are still repeating this today. 

 

If you aren’t familliar with this song, you can hear it here:

This particular version is sung by Paul Baloche.  This is also an example of Integrity’s worship videos that can be used for congregational singing during worship.

