What God likes to hear in our music

What God likes to hear in our music:

  1. He wants us to be engaged; heart, mind, and soul while we sing.
  • Away with the noise of your songs!  I will not listen to the music of your harps. – Amos 5:23
  • These people come near to me with their mouth and honor me with their lips, but their hearts are far from me. Their worship of me is made up only of rules taught by men. – Isaiah 29:13
  • I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart; before the “gods” I will sing your praise.
  • My heart is steadfast, O God; I will sing and make music with all my soul.

2. He wants us to sing new songs to him, not just songs that we have committed to memory.

  • Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy.  – Psalm 33:3
  • He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.   Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.  – Psalm 40:3
  • Sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth.  – Psalm 96:1
  • Sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things; his right hand and his holy arm have worked salvation for him.  – Psalm 98:1
  • I will sing a new song to you, O God; on the ten-stringed lyre I will make music to you,  – Psalm 144:9
  • Praise the LORD. Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the saints.  – Psalm 149:1
  • Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise from the ends of the earth, you who go down to the sea, and all that is in it, you islands, and all who live in them.  – Isaiah 42:10
  • And they sang a new song: “You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals, because you were slain, and with your blood you purchased men for God from every tribe and language and people and nation.  – Revelation 5:9
  • And they sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders.  – Revelation 14:3a

3. Repetition is OK.

  • Day and night they never stop saying: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come. – Rev 4:8
  • Also, note the repetition of the phrase “His love endures forever” in Psalm 136.  It’s awesome.

4. He wants us to use a variety of instruments.

  • Praise him with the sounding of the trumpet, praise him with the harp and lyre,  praise him with tambourine and dancing, praise him with the strings and flute, praise him with the clash of cymbals,  praise him with resounding cymbals.  – Ps 150:3-5
  • David and all the Israelites were celebrating with all their might before God, with songs and with harps, lyres, tambourines, cymbals and trumpets. – 1 Chro 13:8
  • So all Israel brought up the ark of the covenant of the LORD with shouts, with the sounding of rams’ horns and trumpets, and of cymbals, and the playing of lyres and harps. – 1 Chro 15:28

5. He wants our music to teach and admonish each other.

  • Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. – Col 3:16

6. He wants our music to affect our emotions towards him.

Joy:

  • But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy.
  • Sing joyfully to the LORD, you righteous; it is fitting for the upright to praise him.
  • My lips will shout for joy when I sing praise to you— I, whom you have redeemed.
  • Sing for joy to God our strength; shout aloud to the God of Jacob!
  • For you make me glad by your deeds, O LORD; I sing for joy at the works of your hands.
  • Come, let us sing for joy to the LORD; let us shout aloud to the Rock of our salvation.
  • May your priests be clothed with righteousness; may your saints sing for joy.
  • They will celebrate your abundant goodness and joyfully sing of your righteousness.
  • Let the saints rejoice in this honor and sing for joy on their beds.

Gladness & Rejoice:

  • I will be glad and rejoice in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.
  • May the nations be glad and sing for joy, for you rule the peoples justly and guide the nations of the earth.

Steadfastness:

  • My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast; I will sing and make music.

7. He wants to have Christ’s name dwell in us richly as we sing.

  • Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. – Col 3:16

8. We are to sing as if we are singing to him.

  • I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me.
  • Therefore I will praise you among the nations, O LORD; I will sing praises to your name.
  • Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings.
  • I will sing of your love and justice; to you, O LORD, I will sing praise.

9. We are to tell others about Him through singing.

  • I will praise you, O Lord, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples.
  • I will sing of the LORD’s great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations.
  • Sing to him, sing praise to him; tell of all his wonderful acts.

10. We should sing to Him regardless of our age and throughout our entire live.

  • I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.

11. We can sing to Him daily.

  • Sing to the LORD, praise his name; proclaim his salvation day after day.

12. We are to play our instruments skillfully.

  • Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy. –Ps 33:3

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society

