Dropped D Capo Position

Dropped D Capo Position

Here’s a quick guitar trick if you’re like me and transpose most songs in the key of E to the key of D and then play it capoed at the second fret.  Next time, don’t use your capo to press down on every string, shift the capo as shown in the picture so that the last string (fat E) is left “open.”  You might have to reverse the capo position to get this to work depending on your capo design (for example, put  the capo hinge facing downward).

This will give you a “dropped D” sound when you strum your D chord.  While playing a song using this technique, the only chord that you will need to change your finger pattern for is the Em, or Em7.  When fretting this chord, you will have to cover up that open low E string and actually reach behind your capo and finger the sixth string on the second fret with your index finger.

The beauty of using your capo in this manner is that you will get a real full sounding D chord and you can strum all six strings while playing this D chord.

2 thoughts on “Dropped D Capo Position”

  1. Not sure if I really like the sound. I often play my D with my thumb coming over the top E on the 2nd fret. I find I still need to do this with the capo on this way too. So for me, it’s not worth it using the capo this way. But thanks for the option.

    Like

    1. Carri,

      Thanks for reading and for taking the time to leave a comment. I also use my thumb to play the same chord that you are describing. It is actually a D/F# and a very nice sounding chord indeed. The Capo position described here is a bit different. If you play around with it a bit you might find some new chord voicings that you will like.

      Steve

      Like

Comments are closed.