God’s Blessings to You!

God’s Blessings to You!

Our Pastor was away this past Sunday.  One of our members had to fill in as the worship leader.  It was a nice service and it was a musically blended service so I was busy.  But something was missing.  Something wasn’t right.  I felt it the entire service.  My guitar was in tune; it wasn’t that.  We had ample time to practice all the music; it wasn’t that.  Our Pastor actually wrote the sermon and handed it off to a gifted speaker; so it wasn’t that.  It wasn’t even the fact that our Pastor was missing, although that was part of it.  I struggled for a few days trying to pin it down.  Here it is Tuesday night and it just dawned on me.

One thing that our Pastor does, every time that we have a blended service is that he makes it a point to come over to my area before worship.  I’m there a half hour early, in the back, fretting over microphones, running cables, practicing, tuning my guitar, and all the other brick brack; and he comes over, smiling, it doesn’t matter how busy he is, and like clockwork he says: “God’s blessing to you today Steve!”  Small words, but they mean a lot.  More than I had thought.  Pastors, take note.  Blessings on your day!

