A Musician’s Prayer

A Musician’s Prayer

Father,

Thank you for the wonderful gift of music with its incredible array of sounds, colors, moods and emotions.
Thank you for minor and major keys, rhythms, melodies and harmonies, and for the bountiful collection of chords.
Thank you for ballads and anthems, for multi-versed hymns, for Psalms and for spiritual songs.
Thank you for inspiring song writers of old; hymn writers, and modern contemporary writers.
Music would be nothing without you.
Thank you for allowing me to participate in leading your people in praise and worship.
Thank you for my brain so that my musical abilities can be enhanced by my imagination, creativity, knowledge of musical notation and musical theory.
Thank you for my eyes so that I can read my music and so that I might one day see you face-to-face.
Thank you for the dexterity in my hands & fingers so that I can play my instrument.  Thank you for the sensitivity in my finger tips that you have perfectly balanced with the calluses that I need to play my instrument proficiently.
Thank you for my ears so that I can hear what I am playing, for tuning my instrument, and so that I might one day hear the chorus of angels that are praising you in heaven.
Thank you for my feet & toes so I can play my instrument and tap out a rhythm.
Thank you for my voice so that I can sing praises to you.
Thank you for my heart so that I can feel your presence as I play my instrument and sing.
Thank you for my soul that makes me different than anything else in your creation.
I would be nothing without you.
I am forever grateful to the gifts you have bestowed on me.
Help me to stay focused on you.
Open up my mind so that the Holy Spirit might guide my singing and my instrumental abilities.
May the words of my mouth and the mediation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.
I pray this in my Lord and savior’s sweet name Jesus Christ.  Amen.

