Who is Seeking Who Here?

Heard any good 7/11 songs lately?

The People seek:

Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice. – 1 Chronicles 16:10 & Psalm 105:3
Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always. – 1 Chronicles 16:11
Such is the generation of those who seek him, who seek your face, O God of Jacob. Selah – Psalm 24:6
One thing I ask of the LORD, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to seek him in his temple. – Psalm 27:4
My heart says of you, “Seek his face!” Your face, LORD, I will seek. – Psalm 27:8
But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation always say, “The LORD be exalted!” – Psalm 40:16
O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. – Psalm 63:1
Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always. – Psalm 105:4
I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. – Psalm 119:10

God Seeks:

For the Son of Man came to seek and to save what was lost.” – Luke 19:10
Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. – John 4:23

Does God want us to seek him?:

Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you. – Psalm 9:10
The LORD looks down from heaven on the sons of men to see if there are any who understand, any who seek God. – Psalm 14:2 & Psalm 53:2
I love those who love me, and those who seek me find me. – Proverbs 8:17
The LORD is good to those whose hope is in him, to the one who seeks him; – Lamentations 3:25
And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. – Hebrews 11:6
Blessed are they who keep his statutes and seek him with all their heart. – Psalm 119:2
But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. – Matthew 6:33
“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. – Matthew 7:7
For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened. – Matthew 7:8

Indeed we should be seeking God; and yes, he seeks us as well; as a matter of fact – He seeks us from birth, while we are being formed in the womb.

God found me…

I once was lost, but not am found, was blind but now I see. – John Newton

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society

One thought on “Who is Seeking Who Here?”

  1. two notes:

    the proper title should be: “who seeks whom?”

    In teaching the ‘who seeks whom’ question it’s important to start with sin (rom 8:7, 1 Cor. 2:14). By nature we hate God and think that what he says is foolishness. By nature, we do not seek him, nor are we able to. From there, Hebrews 11:6 is the most clear passage to me (though one could use other passages). since I hate God by nature, he sought and found me. He gave me faith. Now I am able to and do seek him.

    Also, be careful to keep in context the passages cited from the OT. Remember that many, many of these ‘seek’ passages are written to believers who already know the Lord. They aren’t addressed to people who still need to find the Lord. They have already been found by the Lord.

    Like

Comments are closed.