Contemporary Christian Music in 2009

Contemporary Christian Music in 2009

2009 was a good year for contemporary Christian music in terms of deeper, richer lyrics containing more scriptural themes and stories, but more work is still needed.  I applaud artists and writers like Chris Tomlin, Paul Baloche, Matt Maher, Leeland Mooring, Bebo Norman, Laura Story, Brenton Brown, Christy Nockles, Steven Curtis Chapman, Dennis Jernigan,  Keith Getty, Stuart Townend, Mark Roach, Matt Redman, Todd Agnew, Michael Card, Vicky Beeching and Aaron Shust among others, for upping their game and digging deeper into God’s word for their compositions.  That being said, this genre is still over flowing with songs about praise and adoration for God which are both good themes for a worship song but there needs to be so much more depth and variety.

Contemporary song writers – here’s what we need more of in 2010:

  1. More scriptural lyrics
  2. More songs about the Trinity
  3. More songs that cover the entire church year, especially needed are good Advent, Epiphany, Ascension, Transfiguration, Palm Sunday, Ash Wednesday, Maundy Thursday and Pentecost songs.
  4. More songs about other biblical characters, both OT and NT.  For example, Moses, Noah, Abraham, Adam & Eve, Cain & Able, Ezekiel, Issac, Jonah, David, Elijah, Daniel, John the Baptist, Paul, etc.
  5. More songs about God’s justice, His wrath and the law.
  6. More specific mentioning of “Jesus” by name and the fact that he died for all our sins.
  7. More teaching songs – about stewardship, about ethics, about praying, about fellowship, etc.
  8. Less songs about our actions (us kneeling, us loving, us adoring, us lifting out hands, etc.) and more about God’s actions (past, present and future).
  9. More songs about Jesus’ second coming.
  10. More songs about heaven and hell.
4 thoughts on “Contemporary Christian Music in 2009”

  1. I was really happy when Michael Tait joined the band, Newsboys. I always liked watching him when he was with D.C. Talk. And I just recently saw that their song “In The Hands Of God” was on the new WOW Hits 2010! It’s one of my favorites from their CD.

    Like

  2. Thank you for this, Steve! I echo a hearty “YES! and Amen!” to all of the above. Depth is what is missing = theology. We need new “hymns” of revelation to balance all the response songs. Blessings, Nancy

    Like

  3. Steve, My wife is music director at our church and has been a subscriber to your blog for over a year and just loves it. I led the contemporary service at our last church, but now am attending seminary. She forwards me some of your articles and I am amazed how closely your posts strongly align with my own beliefs about music and doctrine. I finally got my own subscription today. 🙂

    I am in a band that is hoping to accomplish the goals you mentioned above so I thought I share my website http://www.SiblingHarmony.com I will send you a few songs from our upcoming CD that you might want to consider using in worship.

    My vision for my songwriting and my band is to create music so well appreciated and doctrinally sound that the unique Lutheran expression of the Gospel contained in the songs influences the theology and beliefs of Christians and non-Christians everywhere. My hope is that these songs are used not only by Lutherans, but also by non-Lutherans who now become the ones who have to wrestle with their consciences about changing the lyrics to fit their specific beliefs. 🙂

    Like

  4. Steve,
    You are so right! I have had these same opinions for over 20 years but not many people share them or even agree. So many Christians are caught up in the feel of the music and mistake it for a sense of the Holy Spirit. I am thankful for good sounding music too, but the lyrics are what holds the gospel! Keep speaking out!

    Brenda

    Like

Comments are closed.