When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – Responsive Reading

When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – Responsive Reading

One thing that I like to do is to read a great hymn text, responsively in worship, with the scripture text that has inspired it.   Here’s an example using “When I Survey the Wondrous Cross.”  It could also be done with singing instead of speaking.

Pastor:  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. – Hebrews 12:2
Worship Leader #1:      All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away. – Isaiah 64:6
Worship Leader #2:      What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them rubbish, that I may gain Christ – Philippians 3:8
Congr Speaks: When I survey the wondrous cross, On which the prince of glory died, My richest gain I count but loss, And pour contempt on all my pride.

Pastor:  May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. – Galatians 6:14
Worship Leader: Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. – Colossians 3:2
Congr. Speaks: Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast, Save in the death of Christ, my God; All the vain things that charm me most, I sacrifice them to his blood.

Pastor:  Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. – John 15:13
Congr. Speaks: See, from his head, his hands, his feet; Sorrow and love flow mingled down.  Did e’er such love and sorrow meet, Or thorns compose so rich a crown?

Pastor:  Then he said to them all: If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. – Luke 9:23
Congr. Speaks: Were the whole realm of nature mine, That were an offering far too small; Love so amazing, so divine, Demands my soul, my life, my all!

For the record, there is an additional verse written by Isaac Watts that has been lost through the years.  Here it is:

“His dying crimson, like a robe,
Spreads o’er His body on the tree:
Then am I dead to all the globe,
And all the globe is dead to me.

Scripture taken from the Holy Bible, New International Version, Copyright© 1973, 1978, 1984 by International Bible Society.  Used by permission of International Bible Society

