Unloved?

Unloved?

Sometimes, I am undone.
Unprepared.
Unfriendly.
Undignified.
Unpopular.
But I am not unloved.

Sometimes, I am unclean.
Unsung.
Unmoved.
Unmotivated.
Uninspired.
And yet, I am not unloved.

Sometimes, I am unbecoming.
Uncounted.
Unsavory.
Unbalanced.
Unclear.
Incredibly, I am not unloved.

Sometimes, I am uncommitted.
Uneasy.
Unfair.
Unseemly.
Unsound.
And still, not unloved.

How can this be?
Who heaps all this love onto a wretch like me?
It must be the uncreated one.
Jesus himself.
God incarnate.
Who was, and is, and is to come.

Copyright – Steven Brown, August 2010, https://sjbrown58.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Unloved?”

  1. Who is the author of this poem? To whom should we give credit? It has really caused me to think. Thank you for posting it.

    Like

Comments are closed.