Why Pray?

Why Pray?

I pray because I can not help myself.

because I’m bewildered
I’ve squandered.
I’m confused.
I’m baffled.
I’m perplexed.
I’m worried.

I’m needy.
I’m greedy.

I’m lost.
I hurt.
I doubt.
I’m deep in thought.
I’m upset.

I’m dependent.
I think I’m independent.

I’m straying.

I’m mixed up.
I’ve messed up.

I question?

I’m hopeless.

I’ve forgotten.

I’m thankful.
I’m joyful.
I’m blessed.
I am a child of God.
I’m loved.

Yet…

I’m a sinner.
I need help.
I’m blue.
I’m old.
I have issues.
I offend.
I loose my patience.
I lack faith.

I pray because He listens.
I pray because it works…
… and because it’s a privilege.
Because I get to.

I pray because others need it.
I pray because He answers.
I pray because Jesus prayed.
I pray to recharge my spiritual batteries.
I pray because the need flows out of me all the time,*
Waking and sleeping, it does not matter.*
It does not change God – it changes me.*

That’s why I pray!

– Based on one sentence by C. S. Lewis*

The line spaces are meant to convey the flow of thoughts as they came to me.

