God made Music to be Powerful

God made Music to be Powerful

Music is powerful, because God made it so. Here’s how I know. In a moment, you will read a prayer that was written in the 1200’s. You were probably exposed to these words 30 or 40 years ago but you will instantly recall this prayer, word for word, as if it’s tattooed onto your brain and you will probably start singing it to yourself as well.

Ready?

Here it is:

Day by day, dear Lord, of you, three things I pray:
to see you more clearly,
love you more dearly,
follow you more nearly,
day by day.

~ Richard of Chichester(1200’s)

If you are like me, you can not just read it. You have to sing it. And if you’re not singing it, it’s because you are too young to remember the song. The fact is that the song has ingrained these words into our very being. We will never ever forget these words. Doesn’t matter if you like them, doesn’t matter if you believe them, they are implanted in you. I can not tell you what I wore yesterday, but the words to this prayer I will never forget. This is the reason why music is powerful and this is why it’s important to our worship and this is why it’s important to have good lyrics. They can be simple. In fact, for me, simpler is better because I’m not very smart. So, thank you God for this very special gift of music.

