Lifestyle Worship

Lifestyle Worship

The Angels practice worship as a lifestyle. In fact, some of them never stop singing praises.
For example, they continuously sing “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; who was, and is, and is to come!” – Rev 4:8

I’m writing on this topic because last week I made the comment in a post that I used to sing hymns in church and then listened to popular secular music for the rest of the week.

This got me thinking.
I no longer listen to secular music, or it has at least been minimized.

I only listen to contemporary Christian music while commuting to work, working out at the gym, on Pandora while computing, it’s all that we listen to in our leisure time at home and it’s the only type of concert I attend.

It’s all that I listen to as far as music is concerned.

I know that many people have a problem with this style of music.
The problem is not the music.
The problem is fundamentally the heart of the listener.
Yes, there is bad music. There’s bad hymns and there’s bad contemporary Christian music. There’s even bad angels. These are all to be avoided.

I do praise and worship God as I am listening to contemporary Christian music.
So I worship while commuting to work.
I worship while working out at the gym.
I worship while on the computer.
I worship with leisure time at home.
I worship as I attend concerts.
No one can take that from me.
Although Satan may try.

I also listen to hymns at home now. In fact, many of the contemporary artists are singing hymns and new arrangements of hymns. Perhaps God has used contemporary Christian music to transform my life, and others as well. I think that God is using contemporary Christian music to reach a lot of hardened hearts in the world today.

I work in a manufacturing plant. I was walking through the shop recently and I stood in amazement as four machinists were milling and grinding away to the beat of MercyMe’s “I Can Only Imagine” that somehow found itself on popular FM radio. I know what this is; the Holy Spirit is at work in the shop!

Of course, there’s more to lifestyle worship than listening or singing worship music. There’s prayer, reading God’s Word, seeing God’s glory in the world around us and praising him whenever we think to, but for me, this music has been a blessing and a great start.

I am far from worshiping continuously as a lifestyle. But contemporary Christian music, together with the filling of the Holy Spirit, has inched a sinner one step closer. Truly Amazing.

 

One thought on “Lifestyle Worship”

Comments are closed.