Forgiveness

Forgiveness

Everyone thinks forgiveness is a lovely idea until they have someone to forgive. – C.S.Lewis

Forgiveness is mercy.
Such pardon and kindness I cannot fathom.

Forgiveness is unfailing love.
Such patience and understanding I cannot comprehend.

Forgiveness is overwhelming compassion.
Such sympathy and warmth I cannot reciprocate.

Forgiveness is the blotting out of transgressions.
Such freedom and good will I do not deserve.

Forgiveness is the washing away of my iniquities.
Such purity and newness I cannot maintain.

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.

Based on (Psalm 51:13,15)

“I think that if God forgives us we must forgive ourselves. Otherwise, it is almost like setting up ourselves as a higher tribunal than Him.” – C. S. Lewis

