Got Fruit?

Got Fruit?

Galatians 5:22-23 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.”

God loves everyone, but probably prefers “fruits of the spirit” over “religious nuts!”

“Don’t be afraid to go out on a limb. That’s where all the fruit is!” – Jackson Browne

It is time to stock up on your fruit supply!

These are the fruit:
1. love (like lemons, limes and exotic lychee)
2. joy (like juneberries and jujube)
3. peace (like persimmons, plum, pear, pomegranate and passion fruit)
4. patience (like pumpkin, peach, papaya, pineapple)
5. kindness (love that kiwi)
6. goodness (like grapes and guava)
7. faithfulness (fig newton?)
8. gentleness (like a grapefruit)
9. self-control (like strawberries)

Of course, “love” is first and foremost. The remaining eight fruit grow and mature in you out of the seed of love.

These are the attributes you want to have.
These are the attributes that you should want for your children, for their friends, and for their dates.
These are the attributes that you want in your spouse.
These all have to do with the state of your heart.
God has packed each of these fruit with vitamins, minerals, fiber and anti-oxidants because He cares for you and He wants you to enjoy life on this beautiful earth He created for you. And these are beautiful fruit.

So pray:
Help me to love selflessly and abundantly. Teach me that love is always a priority. You loved me first, now help me to let your love flow through me to others.
Bring joy to those I love, and let me find joy today because the joy of the Lord is my strength.
Bring peace into my life, my family and my church. Peace comes from You and knowing that You are in control of all things.
Grant me patience in this hurried life. I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I put my hope.
Remind me to show kindness today and everyday.
Show me the goodness that life has to offer and be my shining example. How great is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you, which you bestow in the sight of men on those who take refuge in you?
Remind me of your faithfulness to dwell within me and to never leave me or forsake me.
Help me to be gentle in my dealings today.
Give me self control to quell my sinful desires.
Holy Spirit, help me to cultivate all of these fruit in my heart and let them radiate from my being.

I know that you cannot give us love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control apart from yourself, because there is no such thing. Without you, I have only smelly, rotting, fruit.

God, move in amazing power, bring awakenings and blessings.
Amen.

When you pray from scripture, you are praying God’s will for your life. Therefore, if you believe and have faith, it will happen.

We pray for silver, but God gives us gold instead. – Martin Luther.

PS – I mention the real fruit because these show God’s amazing creativity in color, in flavor, in shape, in aroma, in nutritional value, in texture and in appearance. He is awesome!!!!

