Two Responsive Laments based on Psalm 13:1-6

A Responsive Lament based on Psalm 13:1-6

M:        How long, Lord? Will you forget me forever?
C:        Look on me and answer, Lord my God.

M:        How long will you hide your face from me?
C:        Look on me and answer, Lord my God.

M:        How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
C:        Look on me and answer, Lord my God.

M:        How long will my enemy triumph over me?
C:        Look on me and answer, Lord my God.

M:        But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation.
C:        I will sing the Lord’s praise, for he has been good to me. 

A Poetic Responsive Lament based on Psalm 13:1-6

M:  How long will you forget me?
C:  Here in time and space.
M:  How long will I have sorrow?
C:  How long will you hide your face?

M:  How long shall I take counsel?
C:  Each and every day?
M:  How long will heaven be silent?
C:  As I close my eyes to pray.

M:  How long shall mine enemies be exalted?
C:  How long must I weep and wail?
M:  How long must I wait for you?
C:  How long must I continually fail?

M:  But I have trusted in your mercy.
C:  And yes, I truly see.
M:  So my heart rejoices in your salvation.
C:  For you have dealt bountifully with me!

