May These Words Of My Mouth

May These Words of My Mouth

May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer. – Psalm 19:14
 
My Pastor uses these words to open up almost all of his sermons. You may call it ritual, recitation, or tradition; I call it beautiful! Just read it again. What a beautiful tiny prayer! It has it all, it is a humble asking that his words, both spoken and those kept silent in his heart, be pleasing to God and it acknowledges his savior as his Lord, his Rock and his Redeemer. I just know that a heart-felt, timely, truth-filled, Christ & gospel centered message is about to follow when I hear this prayed.

If you think about it, this is also a wonderful thing to pray for a musician just prior to accompanying or singing a piece. This is one piece of scripture that every worship leader should memorize and commit to their hearts and souls.

“Thus every child of God will pray and sing with mouth and heart, in true faith in the Gospel, in firm trust in the redemption earned by Christ, in whom we have both forgiveness and strength for a life of true sanctification.” – Paul E. Kretzmann

So I will repeat it again:
May these words of my mouth 
and this meditation of my heart 
be pleasing in your sight, Lord, 
my Rock and my Redeemer. Amen.
– Psalm 19:14

There is a wonderful contemporary song based on this passage. It’s called “May the Words of My Mouth” and was written by Tim Hughes. I have used this song in worship either as a pre-service piece or during the offering.

Just out of curiosity, I would be interested in knowing if you are a Pastor who also uses this scripture passage  during your sermon. Please leave a comment!
