Summer Psalm for July 13, 2014 – Pentecost 5

Summer Psalm for July 13, 2014 – Pentecost 5
Based on Psalm 31 (selected verses)

Song Choices: 
1. “My Life is in You Lord” by Daniel Gardner (Songbook BOB #165)
2. “Be My Home” by Douglas Norquist (Songbook BOB #19)
3. “I Lift My Hands” by Chris Tomlin and Matt Maher

Level of Difficulty:
The entire congregation can sing the first two songs.  “I Lift my Hands” is best suited for the worship team or praise band.

You Tube:
1. My life is in You Lord (this song has a lot of repetition which can be eliminated if you’d like):

2. Be My Home:
NoYoutube Available

3. I Lift My Hands:

Rationale for the Song Choice:
1. “My life is in You Lord” captures the heart of the psalm writer. We are to put our trust in the Lord.
2. “Be My Home” is based on Psalm 31 verses 1-3
3. “I Lift My Hands” is based on Psalm 31 verses 1-3

Suggested Format:

Musicians play either the chorus or the verse softly in the background  during the responsive readings

M: In you, Lord, I have taken refuge;
C: let me never be put to shame;
M: deliver me in your righteousness.
C: Turn your ear to me,
M: come quickly to my rescue;
C: be my rock of refuge, a strong fortress to save me. 

Congregation Sings the song through once (Songs 1 or 2)
– or –
Worship Team sings verse 1 and the chorus of song 3

M: Since you are my rock and my fortress, for the sake of your name lead and guide me. 
C: Keep me free from the trap that is set for me, for you are my refuge. 
M: I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction and knew the anguish of my soul. 
C: You have not given me into the hands of the enemy but have set my feet in a spacious place. 
M: Be strong and take heart,
C: all you who hope in the Lord.

Congregation Sings the song through once (Songs 1 or 2)
– or –
Worship Team sings verse 2 and the chorus of song 3
