Summer Psalm for August 10, 2014 – Pentecost 9

Summer Psalm for August 10, 2014 – Pentecost 9
Based on Psalm 18 (selected verses)

Song Choices: 
“I Love You Lord” by Laurie Klein (Song #107 in the “Best of the Best” songbooks)

Level of Difficulty:
The entire congregation can sing this song.

You Tube:

Rationale for the Song Choices:
The song is based on the opening verse of the Psalm.

Suggested Format:
Musicians softly play the verse or chorus in the background

M:​ I love you, O LORD, my strength.
C: ​The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer;
M:​ my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge.
C:​ He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
M:​ I call to the LORD, who is worthy of praise,
C:​ and I am saved from my enemies.

Congregation Sings: Verse, Verse & Chorus

M:​ He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.
C:​ He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.
M:​ He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.
C:​ You save the humble but bring low those whose eyes are haughty.
M:​ You, O LORD, keep my lamp burning; my God turns my darkness into light.
C:​You give me your shield of victory, and your right hand sustains me; you stoop down to make me great.

Congregation Sings: Verse, Verse & Chorus

