What’s Your Verse?

What’s Your Verse?
My brother would answer as follows:
And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus. – Ephesians 2:6
He especially likes the past tense on those verbs!
Why, because for us believers, it has already happened.
It’s the Story of His Life!!
Honestly, I needed help with this verse because frankly, I am not there yet in my walk with Christ. I am a devout, old time, Confessional Lutheran who never misses bible class, and yet, I struggle with this verse. So I asked him for more. What does it mean to him? Why did he spend ten years of his life writing a book called “Seated Above, Looking Below?
Bob’s Answer
I remember watching a Robin Williams movie and really getting a lot of spiritual impressions from certain scenes. In the film he plays an iconoclastic teacher who tries to get the students to think for themselves and to “carpe diem, because tomorrow we will all be fertilizer for daffodils.” There was this one scene where he actually told the students to get out of their chairs and to get up and stand on the teacher’s desk in order to see things from a different perspective. So one by one, each student took turns standing on top of his or her desk.
The biblical admonition is similar because God wants us to see things in a new way. The Ephesians letter is what I call “The Great Finished Work Letter” for in Ephesians 2 we read that we are “seated together with Christ in heavenly places.” Imagine that! I am seated above looking below. Right now! 
Pure Gold
The Christian message is that man is too depraved and falls short of God’s standards – so Christ came, lived a perfect life, and He stands in the gap for me by offering Himself on the cross and taking my death, my punishment, my shame in my place. And for my simple faith, not my works or my religious efforts, God saves me, changes me, and makes me a new creation in Christ, here in time and space. This is why in Colossians 3 we read these words “if Ye be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, for you died and your life is know hidden with Him.”
Positional truth now says that I am a citizen of another kingdom, even though I am finishing up down here on earth. So very much like Robin Williams, trying to get his students to see in a new way, God Himself is trying to get the Christian to see in a new way. We are seated way up above and He has already blessed us in spiritual realms and has lifted us up to be kings and priests with Him. We are a royal priesthood! Isn’t it great to know that you don’t have to work yourself into a frenzy and go piling up brownie points before God will accept you. He already has accepted you! He died for you! He loved you before their was even a planet to stand on, and in His infinite foreknowledge He saw those who would believe in His son, and in that sense we have been predestined, ransomed, redeemed and adopted. We truly are Seated Above Looking Below. Wow!!!
– Bobby Brown
Seated Above Looking Below is available on Amazon at this link:
It is free for Amazon Prime members!

