Summer Psalm for August 24, 2014 – Pentecost 11

Summer Psalm for August 24, 2014 – Pentecost 11
Based on Psalm 42 & 43 (selected verses)

Song Choices: 
“Hungry” by Kathryn Scott
“Breathe” by Marie Barnett
“As the Deer” by Martin Nystrom

Level of Difficulty:
The entire congregation can sing these heart-felt songs.

You Tube:
Hungry:

Breathe:

As the Deer:

Rationale for the Song Choices:
It will be evident in the responsive readings. “Breathe” and “Hungry” are organic songs, “As the Deer” bears the opening verse of the Psalm as it’s title.

Suggested Format:
Musicians softly play the verse or chorus in the background (Hungry or Breathe)

Congregations Sings Verse 1 & Chorus (“As the Deer” only)

M: As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.
C: Vindicate me, my God, and plead my cause against an unfaithful nation.

M: Rescue me from those who are deceitful and wicked.
C: My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

M: When can I go and meet with God?
C: You are God my stronghold.

Congregation Sings: Verse and Chorus

M: My tears have been my food day and night, while people say to me all day long,“Where is your God?” 
C: Send me your light and your faithful care, let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell. 

M: I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.  Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me?
C: Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.  Why, my soul, are you downcast? 

M: Deep calls to deep in the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me. 
C: By day the Lord directs his love, at night his song is with me—a prayer to the God of my life. 

Congregation Sings:Verse and Chorus
