Psalm 139 – Confession of Sins

“Confessing to God provides forgiveness, while confessing to someone else provides healing.” – Aaron Stern

The following Confession of Sins can also be accompanied by song.
Contemporary Song Choices:
“Search My Heart” by Joel Houston
“Search Me Oh God” by Hillsongs
“How Great is the Love” by Paul Baloche
“Every Promise” by Keith Getty

Psalm 139:1-8 
M: You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.  You are well acquainted with my sin.
C: You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. I do confess of my sinful thoughts and ask for forgiveness.
M: You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. 
C: Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely. I do confess of all the lies, the gossip and the indecent thoughts I have committed and ask for forgiveness.
M: You hem me in behind and before, and you lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain. 
C: Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. 

Psalm 103:10-12 
M: He does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities. 
C: For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

James 5:16 
M: Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. 
C: We confess all of our sins to you Lord and to each other.
M: The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.
C: Praise be to God. Forever! Amen.
2 thoughts on “Psalm 139 – Confession of Sins”

Comments are closed.