Too Many Denominations

Too Many Denominations!

Satan hates unity in Christ. 
God blesses unity.

I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought. – 1 Corinthians 1:10

41,000!

How good and pleasant it is when God’s people live together in unity! – Psalm 133:1

That’s the number of different Christian denominations in the world today – 41,000!!
Confusing?
By Bobby Brown

Should I become a Catholic?
Lord, I’m just not sure
Or maybe a Baptist or Methodist
Would help me to endure

Should I become a Pentecostal?
We’re so divided, it’s almost amusing
Or maybe a Presbyterian, or Lutheran
God, it’s just so confusing

Should I become an Episcopalian?
God, somebody must be right
Or maybe a Congregationalist
Will help me to see the light

But God is not the author of confusion
As thru a dark glass, we see
And the body of Christ will not be divided
When we get to eternity!

Finally, brothers and sisters, rejoice! Strive for full restoration, encourage one another, be of one mind, live in peace. And the God of love and peace will be with you. – 2 Corinthians 13:11 

Points to Ponder

There is neither Jew nor Gentile, neither slave nor free, nor is there male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. – Galatians 3:28

“And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.” – Joel 2:28

I ❤ that “all people.”

“In essentials, unity; in non-essentials, liberty; in all things, charity.” – Augustine

The above poem by Bobby Brown, the author of “Seated Above, Looking Below”, is available on Amazon at this link:

Seated Above, Looking Below: Poems to Lift Your Spirit

God’s Talking to You!

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you the same attitude of mind toward each other that Christ Jesus had, so that with one mind and one voice you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. – Romans 15:5-6

In Closing
Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited. – Romans 12:16
 

For the record, I am a “Confessional Lutheran.” We base our doctrines on the Bible, and not so much on traditions, human reason or personal experiences, but I suppose that many denominations will make similar claims. Bottom line is that I am where God wants me to be. I am not confused. I am certain. I pray that you feel the same.

One thought on “Too Many Denominations”

Comments are closed.