The Sound of Silence

The Sounds of Silence

With God’s almighty power, your prayers can change the world!”

I love to pray in church, during worship, especially when there is a moment offered for silent personal prayers. Can’t you just feel the strength of hundreds of like-minded worshippers praying silently in a room which is otherwise soaring with sound as we sing together, read together and confess our faith together? This is a special time of peace to just sit and soak in the very presence of God and to speak with Him.

Have you ever wondered if God can hear our silent prayers? Consider the following scripture:

Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. – Psalm 139:23


But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. The Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. – Matthew 6:6


pray continually – 1 Thessalonians 5:17

We need to grasp this moment of silent mediation as we each pray in this quietude because God is present in a very special way and He is intently listening. Pray for your church, pray for your pastor, pray for a hurting friend, pray for yourself, pray to express your thankfulness, pray from your heart – just take this time and pray. Don’t let this opportunity slip by!

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective. – James 5:16

How awesome is that? We confess our sins to God and to each other in worship, then later we are given a chance to privately pray; perhaps to heal a friend.

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him. – 1 John 5:14-15

God is a major force in the affairs of this world and prayer is our opportunity to talk to him and to draw on that power for our benefit. Just the smallest whisper of a prayer spoken in faith will move God on your behalf.

Before they call, I will answer; while they are still speaking I will hear. – Isaiah 65:24

Let’s close with the lyrics to a beautiful hymn about “prayer” written by the author of the hymn Amazing Grace.”

Come, My Soul, with Every Care (CW409)
Text by John Newton (the writer of Amazing Grace)

Come, my soul with every care;
Jesus loves to answer prayer.
He himself bids you to pray,
And will never turn away.

You are coming to a king,
Large petitions with you bring.
For his grace and power are such,
None can ever ask too much.

With my burden I begin:
Lord, remove this load of sin;
Let your blood, for sinners spilt,
Set my conscience free from guilt.

Lord, your rest to me impart;
Take possession of my heart.
There your blood-bought right maintain
And without a rival reign.

While I am a pilgrim here,
Let your love my spirit cheer.
As my guide, my guard, my friend,
Lead me to my journey’s end.

Show me what I am to do;
Every hour my strength renew.
Let me live a life of faith;
Let me die your people’s death.

