Worship Spontaneity

What do you think about this statement:

In one service I attended, their printed program read concerning the Order of Service – “subject to the Holy Spirit”.

Here’s another one:

We get so locked into our agenda, that if the Holy Spirit wanted to do something different, it would ruin our whole “worship” service!

This line of thinking is totally foreign to my cauliflower-like Lutheran ears. My reaction to statements like these is that the Holy Spirit was already involved in the planning that went into the worship service in the first place and is thankfully present in worship whether we leave room for Him or not. As a general rule, I would have to say that I am not a fan of planned worship spontaneity. Call me a dinosaur, a hymn crank, a stand-up sit-down, an intrepid, a liturgical lemon; that’s me. There is enough spontaneity in our services without having to leave room for it, it just happens naturally.

“God Himself is present, Let us now adore Him, and with awe appear before Him.
God is in His temple, all within keep silence, humbly kneel in deepest reverence.
He alone, on His throne, is our God and Savior, praise His name forever!”
– Gerhard Tersteegen

