Thoughts on Peace

Thoughts on Peace

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. – John 14:27

Those are such awesome and powerful words!

Peace in Every Language

Peace Cross
Peace Cross

A few years back my wife gave the necklace photographed at left to me as a Christmas gift.  I like it for many reasons. First, because she gave it to me and had me in mind when she picked it out.  Second, it was hand made by an artisan who lives near us and I know her story and background is as a missionary’s daughter.  Third, the cross depicts “peace” as being universal across all nations and people (it is inscribed with the word “peace” in 7 different languages).  And lastly, it is inscribed with Isaiah 26:3 on it’s reverse side.  I wear the piece to church whenever I think of it and when I travel so that it reminds me of my wife, my savior and his gift of peace to us all, regardless of our nationality or culture.

You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. – Isaiah 26:3

A Peace-Filled Morning

Peace on Mountain Road
Peace on Mountain Road

This was the scene last week as I was driving down Mountain Road on my way into work.  The fog, the mountains, the sunrise and the greenery spoke a serene language of peace to me.  It was a good start to my day. It reminded me of my savior.

Worship in Every Tongue
Speaking of peace in every langauge, isn’t it great in the traditional churches that we can attend worship in a different language and still know what’s going on because the liturgies are so ingrained into our hearts?  This is a gift!

Peace to all,
Steve

