In Remembrance of Him

In Remembrance of Him…

I pray (and you can too):

Father, I need help to devote my life, in remembrance of Him who gave His life for mine.

I need help to forgive others, in remembrance of Him who forgave me over 77 times/day.

I need help to give to the poor, in remembrance of Him who gave everything.

I need help to be kind, in remembrance of Him who healed the broken-hearted.

I need help to be patient, in remembrance of Him who always gave me a second chance.

I need to love, in remembrance of Him who first loved me.

I need help to be generous, in remembrance of Him who is continuously gracious to me.

I need help to pray more, in remembrance of Him who even prayed for those who were murdering Him.

I need help to be more humble, in remembrance of Him who washed others feet.

I need help to control my mouth, especially gossiping, in remembrance of Him who paid a price for my sins.

I need help in being merciful, in remembrance of Him who offers mercy when I do not deserve such grace.

I need help to be more sympathetic, in remembrance of Him who cares.

I need help to be compassionate, in remembrance of Him who shows compassion towards me.

I even need help to control my thoughts, in remembrance of Him who taught me where my sins originate.

 

These are what I need to think of as I partake of the Lord’s Supper, in remembrance of Him.

 

We can and should strive to do all these things in remembrance of Him whose name is Jesus.  He is our motivation, our example, our mentor, our guide, our friend, our confidante, our healer, our teacher, our comforter, as well as our King, Savior, Redeemer, Lord and Messiah.

 

And lest I forget, I also need help to remember Him as my role model for life.

 

Father, I pray all these things, in remembrance of Him, your Son, the one who saves, Jesus.

 

May the Holy Spirit use these words to change my life, in remembrance of Him.

 

Amen.

 

“Christ is God, crying I am here!” – Philip Yancy

