To My Fellow String Players

To my fellow string players who might be forbidden to accompany the music in your church, I write,

“This day is holy to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” – Nehemiah 8:10b

IF
The joy of the Lord is our strength,
THEN
We need to ask “what brings God joy?”

IF
Joy is expressed with a smile
THEN
The sound of the strings is one thing that brings Him joy

 the music of the strings makes you glad – Psalm 45:8b

So you, in particular, have a unique strength from the Lord!  I want you to harness this strength.  You can’t force your gifts onto the church, if they don’t want them.  In this case, stop casting your beautifully translucent pearls to the swine.  This strength that you have from the Lord will still manifest itself but through you in some unexpected way.  Sometimes we just need to go in a different direction.  Give this some prayerful thought, won’t you?

One thought on “To My Fellow String Players”

  1. I am very grateful for the string players and vocalists that I’m privileged to serve with at my church. We prayed for more organ and piano players and God gave us three talented guitarists. So we accept his gifts with gratitude and serve him with joy with our talents.

    Like

Comments are closed.