Remember

Life is getting complicated. So I use a tablet to jot down notes and thoughts. I also use a calendar on my phone with alerts to remind me of important dates and times. I keep calendars for work, home, church and gardening. My desk is covered with yellow post it notes. And still, I forget things.

But the Lord encourages us to remember…

Remember how the Lord your God led you all the way in the wilderness these forty years, to humble and test you in order to know what was in your heart, whether or not you would keep his commands. – Deuteronomy 8:2

Remember, therefore, what you have received and heard; hold it fast, and repent. – Revelation 3:3

Then you will remember to obey all my commands and will be consecrated to your God. – Numbers 15:40

Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced, 1 Chronicles 16:12

On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your right hand upholds me. – Psalm 63:6-8

Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me. – Isaiah 46:9

There is comfort in remembering our Lord and His words. Actually, I remember my Lord better than my daily routine. I credit this to the Holy Spirit inside me. He prods and guides me. He knows that I need it. I don’t thank Him enough for this, but it is important. I thank Him now.

God remembers:
“For I will forgive their wickedness and will remember their sins no more.” – Jeremiah 31:34

By the way, as we age, we tend to forget more, but don’t resent growing old because many are denied the privilege.
